First real job!

After finding out my degree is pretty much useless and struggling to find a job after 3 months! I finally had my first real job at a well known supermarket chain! It was a job, I needed money, like I am sure millions of other students do after the expense of trying to be an independent adult, and failing at it miserably! Unless you are one of the weird people who never struggled…..well screw you :P! Settle for that job even if it is just a stop job! It could turn in to something much more, and you could enjoy it and end up running the company one day! Be optimistic! It really wasn’t what I had in mind for my future so, to be back in my high school town, working with people I had not seen since high school….AWKWARD! But it was something after all and it is better than having no job at all! It is well known that you are more likely to get hired for a position if you already have a job than if you are “looking”. To a company they see you as lazy even if you are actively seeking work and handing out CV’s everyday. They don’t know that, nor do they care. I learnt quickly that it is no use holding out for that amazing job because you may not get it. If you get some money in your account you won’t end up in a big downer from finishing University, where your friends want to do things but you can no longer afford to. Hang in there. A job is a job and money is money. You can’t have one with out the other, even to play the lottery you need money and to get that money you need a job (unless its from birthday’s etc but who gets that much anyway as soon as they hit 20! Its all bath treats!).

The job it self was alright, the staff in my department were lovely and the best team you could ask for, apart from a couple of controversial characters that no one really liked but they endured because these people were good at their job (or they made it look like they were). But for a stop job it was better than I could ever have asked for. I think you may have noticed how I have used were and was, well I have a lot of catching up to do! Just hope these posts can give you something to feel optimistic about its not the end of the world.

Leave a Reply

